Nursing Notes

August 27, 2009

Nursing Progress Notes

Filed under: Nursing — Shirley @ 8:35 pm
Tags: , ,

This blog is where I can discuss the current and future trends in the nursing profession as I see them happening.  I will try to find news articles, blog posts, personal stories and links to display here for anyone who is interested in nursing as a possible profession  or,  for those of us already in the trenches, those who are looking for answers to the dilemas they face on a daily basis.

I believe with all my heart that nursing as a profession is wonderful.  No where else can you get as much satisfaction for the work you do; but no where else can you get as much frustration and irritation, either.  As a nurse for going on 20 years now, I have seen my share of changes in my profession.  I have seen changes in healthcare and hospital administrations.  I have seen cutbacks on staffing, patient care standards, and therapy in the hospital setting.  At the same time, I have seen more and sicker patients being admitted with shorter and shorter stays.  As a nurse, I am constantly faced with the choice of whether to do what I feel is best for my patients despite lack of time or to do what is necessary only.  I wish I could say that I always opt for the first options, but I am human and there are days that I am unable physically to care for all of my patients as I would like to.  When you have a patient load that precludes spending quality time with your patients, you sometimes have to just do the best you can and meet the Standards of Care set forth by your state board.

On that note, I would like to include below an excerpt from a blog.  I hope after reading this, you will visit the site and spend some time reading all the comments there.  They are heart-breaking and eye-opening.  These comments will give you a feel for what is going on in nursing right now.

How we used to be!

How we used to be!

General Health Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

